Scenic Eclipse Vs Scenic Eclipse II: Which Scenic Ship?
Scenic operates two near-identical discovery yachts in Antarctica. Here is what the operator pages actually publish about each, where the differences sit, and which one suits your travel style.
Quick answer: Scenic Eclipse and Scenic Eclipse II are sister discovery yachts: the operator lists 228 guests each, capped at 200 in Antarctica, 114 suites, Polar Class 6 and matching Zodiac and kayak kit. Eclipse II, launched 2023, is the newer hull, and its page names two helicopters and a submersible. Neither ship has a published Antarctica fare on file.

Scenic sails Antarctica with two discovery yachts built to one design, and the operator publishes almost the same specification sheet for both. That makes the comparison unusually clean, and unusually frustrating: the more you read, the more the two ships converge. The differences that remain are real but narrow, and they sit mostly in launch year, cabin categories and which departures each hull happens to run in a given season.
The facts below come from the operator's published ship pages and fleet materials, with every unpublished field flagged rather than guessed. For the deeper background, the first ship has its own page in the Scenic Eclipse Antarctica guide, and the top end of the expedition cruise market, where these yachts compete, is mapped in the luxury Antarctica cruise guide. The rest of the site's ship research is collected here on Cruises In Antarctica, from budget small ships up to this tier.
Quick Facts Side By Side
On the operator's published figures the two ships are close to twins: 228 guests each, capped at 200 in Antarctica, 114 suites, Polar Class 6, and matching expedition kit of Zodiacs, kayaks and stand-up paddleboards. Scenic Eclipse II is the newer hull, launched 2023, and its page names two helicopters and a submersible. No build year or published Antarctica fare is on file for the first Eclipse.
The first thing to understand is that Scenic itself draws no hard line between the ships. The operator's Eclipse II page carries the headline specifications, and the corresponding details for the first Eclipse appear in the same materials labelled as sister-ship data, which is how this article reports them. Where a figure could not be verified separately for Scenic Eclipse, that is stated once and plainly, not smoothed over.
The practical differences surface in booking rather than in hardware. Each ship runs its own departure calendar, so your dates and route preferences will often decide the ship for you. When both have suitable sailings in the same window, the cabin categories and the small refinements of the newer hull become the tiebreaker.
| Specification | Scenic EclipseScenic | Scenic Eclipse IIScenic |
|---|---|---|
| Operator | Scenic | Scenic |
| Class | Luxury | Luxury |
| Passengers | – | – |
| Built | – | – |
| Ice class | – | – |
| From, per person | – | – |
| Departs from | – | – |
| Voyage length | 13 to 22 days | 13 to 22 days |
| Next step | Get a free quote for Scenic Eclipse | Get a free quote for Scenic Eclipse II |
For context, both yachts sit at the very top of the Antarctica market alongside Seabourn's expedition pair; the Seabourn Venture Vs Seabourn Pursuit comparison covers that sister duo if you are cross-shopping the whole luxury tier before you book anything.
Who Each Ship Is Built For
Scenic Eclipse suits travellers who want the original discovery-yacht concept without needing the newest hull: the same helicopters and all-verandah suites on the departures the first ship happens to sail. Scenic Eclipse II suits travellers who want the newest build in the fleet and its published cabin categories, and who can be flexible on dates. Both serve the same profile: luxury-minded passengers who weigh expedition gear as heavily as the spa.
Scenic Eclipse is the ship that established the discovery-yacht formula: a 168-metre, Polar Class 6 vessel carrying 228 guests, capped at 200 on Antarctic voyages, with 114 suites, up to 10 dining experiences, a 550-square-metre Senses Spa and expedition hardware headlined by a helicopter, which the ship's own page mentions directly (see Le Lyrial Vs Scenic Eclipse). Her listed Antarctic voyage lengths run 13, 16, 20 and 22 days, and the trade reporting on her season schedule is noted but unverified.
Scenic Eclipse II, launched 2023, is the refined repeat of that formula. The operator's page lists the same core numbers, 228 guests with a 200-guest Antarctica cap, 114 suites, 168 metres and Polar Class 6, plus the fullest expedition inventory in the fleet write-up: two helicopters, the Scenic Neptune II submersible, four SEABOBs, a fleet of Zodiacs, kayaks, stand-up paddleboards and snorkelling gear.
Neither ship is aimed at the budget end of the market. They are equipped and positioned against Silversea and Seabourn rather than against the small-ship budget fleet, and the general spending landscape for a voyage like this is mapped in the Antarctica cruise cost guide.
Cabins And Suites
Both ships carry 114 suites, and the operator's pages describe private verandahs across the range on Eclipse II, with the first Eclipse listed with the same suite count and verandah concept as sister-ship data. Eclipse II's published categories run from Verandah and Deluxe suites through Spa and Panorama Suites to two Owner's Penthouse Suite layouts, one of them a two-bedroom. The operator does not publish a full category list for the first Eclipse on the pages reviewed.
The honest summary is that cabin choice between these ships is mostly a choice of category, not of hull. On Eclipse II you can pick a Spa Suite steps from the Senses Spa, a Panorama Suite for the view, or the Two-Bedroom Owner's Penthouse Suite for a family of four or a group sharing, and every listed category carries a private verandah per the operator's page.
| Cabin detail | Scenic Eclipse | Scenic Eclipse II |
|---|---|---|
| Total suites | 114 (sister-ship data) | 114 (operator page) |
| Private verandahs | Verandah suites and higher (sister-ship data) | Private verandahs across listed categories |
| Top category | Not published separately | Two-Bedroom Owner's Penthouse Suite |
| Spa-adjacent category | Not published separately | Spa Suite |
| Single-occupancy option | Not published separately | Not published separately |

One gap to flag once: the operator does not publish a separate full cabin-category list for the first Scenic Eclipse in the materials reviewed, so the table above leans on the sister-ship data the operator itself uses. Suites at sea also sell at very different speeds, and the two-bedroom categories on a 114-suite ship are scarce by definition. If a specific cabin grade decides the booking, a free consultation on cabin availability will show which categories remain on each departure.
Food, Lounges, And Life Onboard
The operator lists up to 10 dining experiences on Eclipse II and describes the first Eclipse with the same figure as sister-ship data. Shared onboard hardware includes the Senses Spa at 550 square metres, a Vitality pool, Sky Bar, Observation Lounge, gym, and a yoga and Pilates studio. Neither page itemises fare inclusions such as drinks or gratuities, so those need checking per voyage.
Dining is where Scenic's yachts compete hardest with the mainstream luxury lines: up to 10 venues on a 228-guest ship is more choice per passenger than almost anything else sailing the Peninsula. The operator's Eclipse II page names the Senses Spa, the Vitality pool, the Sky Bar and the Observation Lounge directly, with a gym and a yoga and Pilates studio alongside, and the first Eclipse is described with the same facilities as sister data.
What the pages do not settle is what the fare bundles. Drinks, gratuities, parkas, boots and flights are each unstated on the ship pages, which is common in a tier where inclusions are set per voyage rather than fleet-wide. Treat any inclusion claim you read elsewhere as unverified until it appears on a booking document, and if the all-inclusive question decides your budget, ask an expert what each fare covers before you commit to the cruise.
Itineraries And Routes
Both ships sail 13, 16, 20 and 22-day Antarctic voyages, the lengths listed in the fleet data. The operator does not publish departure ports or a from-price for either ship on the pages reviewed, so route details and fares need live checking. The general pattern for Scenic's Antarctic programme is Peninsula-focused sailing with longer combinations available.
The voyage-day pattern matters more than it first appears. A 13-day sailing is the classic Peninsula cruise itinerary, with the Drake Passage crossed by sea in each direction, a crossing the Drake Passage crossing guide explains in depth. The 16, 20 and 22-day options add scope, and the landing days on any Peninsula route concentrate in the waters covered by the Antarctic Peninsula cruise region guide.
| Voyage detail | Scenic Eclipse | Scenic Eclipse II |
|---|---|---|
| Voyage lengths (days) | 13 / 16 / 20 / 22 | 13 / 16 / 20 / 22 |
| Departure ports | Not published on reviewed pages | Not published on reviewed pages |
| Published from-price | Not on file | Not on file |
| 2026-27 schedule | Reported, unverified | Reported, unverified |
| Signature expedition extras | Helicopter (operator page) | Two helicopters, one submersible (operator page) |

Because neither ship carries a published fare, the only honest way to compare them on price is to price matching departures side by side. That is a short exercise for someone with live access to both calendars and a long one from static pages, which is precisely the gap a consultation fills.
Expedition Team, Landings, And Activities
Both ships carry Zodiacs, kayaks and stand-up paddleboards, and Eclipse II's page additionally lists a submersible, four SEABOBs and snorkelling gear. Landings follow the IAATO rules that apply fleet-wide: no vessel over 500 passengers may make landings, and a maximum of 100 passengers may be ashore from a vessel at any one time, with a 1:20 guide-to-visitor ratio. At 200 guests in Antarctica, both Scenic yachts land everyone in a single rotation.
The regulatory frame is worth knowing because it is why ship size matters so much in Antarctica. The IAATO visitor guidelines set the 100-ashore limit, the one-ship-per-site rule and the minimum five-metre distance from wildlife, and the Antarctic Treaty Secretariat notes that roughly 98 percent of tourism voyages occur in the Peninsula region during the austral summer. Both Scenic ships operate comfortably inside that frame.
The activity list is where the two ships genuinely match. Zodiacs, kayaks and stand-up paddleboards appear in both fleet entries, and the Eclipse II page adds the submersible, the SEABOBs and snorkelling gear by name. For the first Eclipse, the ship's page mentions a helicopter while the submersible is not separately confirmed in the materials reviewed, so treat that as unverified rather than absent. Camping, snowshoeing and citizen-science programs are not listed for either ship on the pages reviewed, and this comparison will not claim them.
If helicopter flightseeing over the Peninsula is the reason you are choosing Scenic at all, confirm at booking that flights are scheduled on your specific departure, since weather and ice govern every sortie regardless of which hull you sail.
Prices And What The Fare Includes
Neither Scenic Eclipse nor Scenic Eclipse II has a published Antarctica from-price on file, and the operator's ship pages do not itemise fare inclusions. For market context, one 2026 cost report puts live 2027-28 Antarctic itineraries across ten lines between $11,321 and $28,500+ per person, which is the bracket these yachts sit in. A current Scenic fare needs a consultation; no number is printed here because none is verified.
That is an unusual situation for a luxury line and worth being blunt about: you cannot comparison-shop these two ships from published fares, because no verified fare is published in the sources this site is allowed to cite. What you can compare is the structure of what you would be buying.
| Cost item | Scenic Eclipse | Scenic Eclipse II |
|---|---|---|
| Published Antarctica from-price | Not on file | Not on file |
| Drinks included | Not stated on ship page | Not stated on ship page |
| Gratuities included | Not stated on ship page | Not stated on ship page |
| Parka and boots | Not stated on ship page | Not stated on ship page |
| Flights included | Not stated on ship page | Not stated on ship page |
| Excursions and expedition activities | Included in programme (operator page) | Included in programme (operator page) |
Market context helps calibrate expectations. Entry berths on Drake-crossing expedition ships begin around $7,500 to $8,995 per person on the budget lines, one cost report finds, while single supplements across the market typically run from 25 percent extra to 1.5 to 2 times the twin rate. Scenic's yachts price at the luxury end of that spread, and the opposite end of the market is covered in the cheap Antarctica cruise guide.
The Real Differences
The concrete contrasts are few: launch year, with Eclipse II the 2023 newbuild; cabin categories, where only Eclipse II's full list is published; and the submersible, which is confirmed on Eclipse II's page but not separately verified for the first Eclipse. Everything else, from guest counts to ice class to dining count, is either identical or reported as sister-ship data.
Here are the differences that actually survive scrutiny:
- Launch year. Scenic Eclipse II launched in 2023, per the operator's page. No build year for the first Scenic Eclipse was verified on the pages reviewed.
- Published cabin categories. Eclipse II's page lists the full range from Verandah suites to the Two-Bedroom Owner's Penthouse Suite. The first Eclipse's categories appear only as sister-ship data.
- Submersible confirmation. The Scenic Neptune II submersible is named on Eclipse II's page. For the first Eclipse, the submersible is not separately confirmed in the materials reviewed.
- SEABOBs and snorkelling gear. Listed on Eclipse II's page; not separately confirmed for the first Eclipse.
- Departure calendars. Each ship runs its own voyages, so dates and routes differ in practice even when the ships themselves do not.
- Newness premium. Where a traveller cares about sailing the newest hull in the fleet, only Eclipse II qualifies.
The honest note is that these are two iterations of one ship. Guest counts, ice class, length, suite count, spa size, dining count and expedition concept all match on the operator's own numbers. Anyone choosing between them on hardware alone will struggle, and that is by design.
Which One To Choose By Travel Style
Choose by date and category, not by specification. Travellers who want the newest hull, a published two-bedroom suite or the named submersible lean to Scenic Eclipse II. Travellers whose preferred departure happens to sail on Scenic Eclipse lose almost nothing by taking her. The table below maps the common traveller types to a pick.
| Traveller type | The pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Family or group of four | Scenic Eclipse II | Two-Bedroom Owner's Penthouse Suite is published on her page |
| Spa-first luxury traveller | Either | Same 550 sqm Senses Spa and Vitality pool on both |
| Helicopter flightseeing priority | Either, by departure | Two helicopters listed for Eclipse II, one confirmed for Eclipse; weather governs flights |
| Submersible dive priority | Scenic Eclipse II | Scenic Neptune II named on her page |
| Newest-ship traveller | Scenic Eclipse II | 2023 launch, the newer hull in the fleet |
| Date-locked traveller | Whichever ship sails your week | The ships are near-identical on published specs |
| Budget-conscious luxury seeker | Neither, or a discounted departure | No published fare; both sit at the top of the market |

Whichever way you lean, the decision is worth a conversation before you commit, since live availability and inclusion details decide more than spec sheets do. A free consultation on either Scenic yacht costs nothing and carries no obligation.
Common Questions About Scenic Eclipse Vs Scenic Eclipse II
Is Scenic Eclipse II newer than Scenic Eclipse?
Yes. The operator's page states Scenic Eclipse II launched in 2023. No build year for the first Scenic Eclipse was verified on the pages reviewed.
Do both ships carry helicopters in Antarctica?
Two helicopters are listed on Scenic Eclipse II's operator page, and the first Scenic Eclipse's page mentions a helicopter. Helicopter operations depend on weather, ice and the specific departure.
How many guests do the Scenic yachts carry in Antarctica?
The operator lists 228 guests on each ship, capped at 200 on Antarctic voyages, in 114 suites.
What ice class do the Scenic Eclipse ships have?
Both are listed at Polar Class 6, the operator's stated rating for the discovery-yacht design.
How much does a Scenic Eclipse Antarctica cruise cost?
No published Antarctica from-price is on file for either ship, and the operator's ship pages do not itemise fare inclusions. A current fare needs a consultation, so no number is printed here.
Which Scenic ship is better for penguin landings?
Neither has a hardware edge. Both carry 200 guests in Antarctica, under the IAATO limit of 100 passengers ashore at a time, with Zodiac fleets on both ships, so landing quality comes down to itinerary, weather and the expedition team of your specific departure.





