Silversea Vs Seabourn: Which Ultra-Luxury Line Fits?

Silversea and Seabourn both run ultra-luxury expedition ships to the Antarctic Peninsula, but they differ in fleet, routing and how they handle the Drake Passage. Here is how the two lines compare on the facts that matter.

Quick answer: Silversea sends Silver Endeavour and Silver Wind to Antarctica from Puerto Williams and King George Island on 6-to-15-day voyages; Seabourn sends Seabourn Venture and Seabourn Pursuit from Ushuaia on 10-to-21-day sailings. Neither line publishes fares on the pages reviewed, so a current price needs a consultation. Both fleets are small enough for full landings under the 100-passenger-ashore rule.

Luxury expedition ship anchored beside a wall of Antarctic sea ice under a pale sky

Quick Facts Side By Side

Both lines operate purpose-built ultra-luxury expedition ships small enough to land every guest under Antarctic rules, but they reach the continent differently: Silversea's Silver Endeavour and Silver Wind work fly-cruise and short-sail routes out of Puerto Williams and King George Island, while Seabourn's Venture and Pursuit sail the Drake Passage from Ushuaia on longer voyages. Neither operator publishes Antarctica fares on the pages reviewed here, so real pricing needs a live check.

Silversea and Seabourn sit at the same end of the market: small, all-suite expedition ships with high staff-to-guest ratios and a full Zodiac operation. The differences are in the details, and the details are what this page compares. Silversea's Antarctic operation centres on Silver Endeavour, a 2021-built, PC6-rated ship of 220 guests, with Silver Wind alongside it; Seabourn fields the sister ships Seabourn Venture and Seabourn Pursuit, which the operator's expedition pages list at 264 guests each with 132 oceanfront veranda suites. If you are weighing these two lines against the wider field, our Antarctica cruise lines overview sets out where each operator sits.

The table below puts the four ships the two lines actually send to Antarctica next to each other, using only figures the operators publish on their own ship pages.

Ship comparison
ShipClassPassengersIce classFrom, per personVoyage lengthDeparts from
Silver EndeavourSilversea Luxury 220 PC6 – 6 to 13 days King George Island, Puerto Williams
Silver WindSilversea Luxury 274 – – 9 to 15 days Puerto Williams, King George Island
Seabourn VentureSeabourn Luxury – – – 10 to 21 days Ushuaia
Seabourn PursuitSeabourn Luxury – – – 10 to 21 days Ushuaia

One structural difference shapes everything else on this page. Seabourn's ships sail to and from Ushuaia, which means crossing the Drake Passage by sea, typically around two days each way on the classic routing. Silversea's Antarctic ships work from Puerto Williams and King George Island, which puts fly-cruise options, including a flight over the Drake, at the centre of the programme rather than at its edge. Our Drake Passage crossing guide covers what that crossing actually involves.

Who Each Line Is Built For

Silversea suits travellers who want the shortest possible route to the ice and a ship where every suite has a balcony; Seabourn suits travellers who want a longer, sea-based expedition with a large Zodiac fleet and a deep expedition team. Both are built for the same traveller at heart: someone who wants luxury hardware without giving up real landings.

Silversea's lead Antarctic ship is Silver Endeavour. The operator's ship page lists 220 guests, a PC6 ice-class rating and a build year of 2021, with nine suite categories from the Classic Veranda Suite up to the Owner's Suite, every one of them with a balcony. Dining runs across five venues, from The Restaurant to La Dame, and the facilities list includes the Otium Spa, a pool deck, an Explorer Lounge, an observation lounge, a library and a fitness centre. The page also credits the ship with a Zodiac-to-guest ratio it describes as industry-leading, though it does not publish the exact number of Zodiacs. If you want the fuller picture on the line, our Silversea Antarctica cruise guide goes deeper.

Seabourn's lead ship is Seabourn Venture, launched in 2022, with sister Seabourn Pursuit following in 2023. The operator's expedition pages list 264 guests in 132 oceanfront veranda suites, built to PC6 Polar Class standards, with eight dining experiences including The Restaurant and a sushi venue. The facilities list covers the Spa, a fitness centre, Seabourn Square, the Expedition Lounge, the Constellation Lounge and the Discovery Center. Where the page gets specific is the expedition hardware: 24 Zodiacs, kayaks, and an expedition team it describes as 19 to 26 experts depending on the voyage. Our Seabourn Antarctica cruise guide covers the line's full Antarctic programme.

The Fleets Compared

Each line sends two ships to Antarctica for the 2026-27 season: Silver Endeavour and Silver Wind for Silversea, Seabourn Venture and Seabourn Pursuit for Seabourn. All four are small by cruise standards, which matters because Antarctic rules reward small ships with more landing time.

The roster data is uneven in places, and it is more honest to show the gaps than to paper over them. Silver Wind's roster entry lists 274 guests and gives no build year or ice class; the operator's fleet page does not state an ice class for her either, so that field stays blank rather than guessed. The Seabourn ships' roster entries list no passenger figure, but the operator's own expedition pages give 264 guests each, and that is the figure used here with its source named.

Ship Line Guests Build year Ice class
Silver Endeavour Silversea 220 2021 PC6
Silver Wind Silversea 274 Not stated by the operator Not stated by the operator
Seabourn Venture Seabourn 264 (operator page) 2022 PC6 Polar Class standards
Seabourn Pursuit Seabourn 264 (operator page) 2023 PC6 Polar Class standards

The regulatory backdrop explains why these numbers matter. Under IAATO and Antarctic Treaty rules, vessels carrying more than 500 fare-paying passengers may not make landings at all, and no more than 100 passengers may be ashore from a vessel at any one time, per the IAATO visitor guidelines. Every ship in both fleets clears both bars comfortably, which means all guests can land rather than rotating. The 100-ashore rule still applies, so on a 264-guest Seabourn ship the landing operation runs in shifts; on the 220-guest Silver Endeavour the shifts are shorter.

Cabins, Food, And Onboard Style

Both lines are all-suite operations with balconies as standard: Silversea publishes nine suite categories on Silver Endeavour with every suite featuring a balcony, and Seabourn publishes veranda suites across its two expedition ships with all 132 suites oceanfront. The onboard styles diverge more than the hardware does.

On Silver Endeavour the cabin list runs from Classic Veranda Suite through Premium Veranda, Silver Suite, Signature Suite, Master Suite, Grand Suite and Owner's Suite, and the operator states plainly that all suites feature a balcony. Dining is spread across five venues: The Restaurant, The Grill, La Dame, Arts Café and Il Terrazzino. The style the page projects is intimate and quiet, with the Otium Spa and the Explorer Lounge doing the heavy lifting for downtime between landings.

Seabourn's expedition ships take a similar all-veranda approach, with categories including the Veranda Suite and Penthouse Suite, and the operator notes eight dining experiences across the ships, from The Restaurant to a sushi venue. The Discovery Center serves as the lecture and presentation space, with the Expedition Lounge acting as the expedition's social hub before and after Zodiac operations. Neither operator publishes a detailed fare-inclusions list on the ship pages reviewed, so questions about drinks, gratuities and flights need a live check rather than an assumption. For how these fares sit in the wider market, our Antarctica cruise cost guide breaks down what ultra-luxury pricing generally covers.

Elegant suite balcony overlooking icebergs and dark polar water

Itineraries And Routes

Silversea's Antarctic voyages run 6 to 15 days from Puerto Williams and King George Island, including fly-cruise routings that skip the Drake Passage by air; Seabourn's run 10 to 21 days roundtrip from Ushuaia, crossing the Drake by sea both ways. The routing choice changes the trip more than any cabin category does.

The roster's itinerary data shows the split clearly. Silver Endeavour's voyage lengths run 6, 9, 10 and 13 days, working from King George Island and Puerto Williams; Silver Wind's run 9, 12 and 15 days from the same gateways. That short-voyage structure exists because the fly-cruise model removes up to four days of sea transit: a charter flight of roughly two hours replaces the two-day crossing each way, a trade-off our fly the Drake guide examines in detail. The catch is weather dependence, since flights to King George Island are held to Antarctic conditions, not airline schedules.

Seabourn's voyages run 10, 11, 12, 20 and 21 days from Ushuaia, and a trade report on the line's 2026-27 season describes 19 roundtrip Ushuaia sailings between November 2026 and March 2027, some including South Georgia and the Falklands. Longer is not automatically better, but it is different: a 20-day Seabourn sailing reaches South Georgia's king penguin colonies, which the short Silversea routings do not.

Ship Voyage lengths (days) Departure ports Published from-price
Silver Endeavour 6 / 9 / 10 / 13 King George Island, Puerto Williams Not published; needs a consultation
Silver Wind 9 / 12 / 15 Puerto Williams, King George Island Not published; needs a consultation
Seabourn Venture 10 / 11 / 12 / 20 / 21 Ushuaia Not published; needs a consultation
Seabourn Pursuit 10 / 11 / 12 / 20 / 21 Ushuaia Not published; needs a consultation

Since neither line prints fares on the pages reviewed, the honest way to price either is a free consultation on current fares, which costs nothing and carries no obligation. Route-wise, both lines concentrate on the Antarctic Peninsula, the region our Antarctic Peninsula cruise guide covers site by site.

Expedition Programme, Landings, And Activities

Both lines run full Zodiac operations with guided landings, and both stay inside the Antarctic rules on landing sizes. Seabourn publishes the harder numbers: 24 Zodiacs, kayaks and a 19-to-26-person expedition team; Silversea publishes its ratio as industry-leading without giving the count, and neither line's sources list camping, snowshoeing or helicopters for these ships.

The Seabourn expedition pages are unusually concrete. Seabourn Venture and Seabourn Pursuit each carry 24 Zodiacs and kayaks, with an expedition team the operator describes as 19 to 26 experts depending on the voyage, plus a Mud Room style operation for boarding. Some expedition descriptions from the line mention submersibles, but the ship pages reviewed here do not state them as an Antarctic inclusion, so treat that as voyage-specific at most.

Silversea's page for Silver Endeavour describes industry-leading Zodiac-to-guest and expert-to-guest ratios without publishing the counts, and lists a Mud Room for expedition activities. What it does publish is the shore side: every suite guest lands, because the 220-guest ship clears the 100-ashore rule with two rotations. The landing rules themselves come from IAATO: 100 passengers ashore at a time, one vessel per site, a 1:20 guide ratio and a five-metre minimum distance from wildlife, all set out in the general visitor guidelines.

Neither line's source lines list kayaking for the Silversea ships, camping for any of the four, or helicopter operations for either fleet, so this page claims none of them. An activity absent from a ship's published programme is not denied, it is simply not on the page, and a live check is the way to confirm what a specific departure includes.

Guests in red parkas boarding a Zodiac beside an expedition ship in Antarctica

Prices And What The Fare Includes

No fare for any of the four ships appears on the operator pages reviewed, so this page prints no numbers: pricing for both lines runs through a consultation, and the meaningful comparison is what the fares are known to include versus what the operators leave unpublished.

That absence is itself informative. Ultra-luxury lines often price by departure and cabin rather than by a published from-rate, and both Silversea's and Seabourn's ship pages omit itemised inclusions, drinks and gratuities policies. What the wider market data does show is where these two lines sit: one 2026 cost guide reports the cheapest published Peninsula fares on mainstream expedition lines at roughly $9,000 to $12,000 per person, with ultra-luxury sailing well above that band. For context, the roster's confirmed ultra-luxury fares elsewhere include Ponant's L'Austral from $18,700 per person, which indicates the neighbourhood these two lines occupy without telling you their own prices.

What you are comparing Silversea Seabourn
Published Antarctica from-price Not on the pages reviewed Not on the pages reviewed
How to get a real price Free consultation Free consultation
Suites All suites have a balcony (operator page) All 132 suites oceanfront verandas (operator page)
Dining venues published 5 on Silver Endeavour 8 experiences across the expedition ships
Expedition hardware published Ratios described, counts not stated 24 Zodiacs, kayaks, 19-26 person team
Typical voyage length 6-15 days 10-21 days

If the price question is the one holding up your decision, a chat with an expedition-cruise specialist gets you live fares for both lines side by side, at no cost and with no obligation to book either.

The Real Differences

Five contrasts do most of the work in this comparison: how each line crosses the Drake, how long the voyages run, how many guests each ship carries, how much expedition detail each operator publishes, and how old the fleets are. Everything beyond those five is finish-level detail that both lines handle well.

First, the Drake. Seabourn crosses it by sea both ways; Silversea's Antarctic ships are built around Puerto Williams and King George Island, which makes flying over the passage a core option rather than an add-on. If the crossing is the part you dread, that alone may decide it, and our is the Drake Passage dangerous page covers the conditions honestly.

Second, voyage length. Silversea offers the shortest trips in this comparison, down to 6 days, which suits tight calendars; Seabourn's 20-to-21-day sailings reach South Georgia and the Falklands, which the short routings cannot.

Third, ship size. Silver Endeavour carries 220 guests against 264 on each Seabourn ship. Both land everyone, but the smaller ship rotates ashore faster and feels quieter in lounges.

Fourth, published expedition detail. Seabourn prints Zodiac counts, kayak availability and team size; Silversea describes its ratios without numbers. Neither approach tells you the operation is better, only that one is easier to verify from the armchair.

Fifth, fleet age. Silver Endeavour was built in 2021, Seabourn's ships in 2022 and 2023, so all three purpose-built expedition ships are young; Silver Wind, by contrast, is an older vessel whose build year the operator does not state on the pages reviewed.

Two expedition ships at anchor in a calm Antarctic bay ringed by glaciers

Which Line To Choose By Travel Style

Choose Silversea if you want the shortest routing to the Peninsula and a smaller, all-balcony ship; choose Seabourn if you want a longer expedition, the option of South Georgia, and the most transparently published Zodiac operation. Neither is the wrong answer for a first Antarctic cruise.

The table below matches traveller types to the line that fits, based only on the published differences above.

If you are this traveller The better fit Why
Short on time, want maximum ice per day Silversea 6-to-13-day voyages from King George Island and Puerto Williams skip sea transit
Worried about the Drake crossing Silversea Fly-cruise routing is the programme's core, not an extra
Wanting South Georgia and the Falklands Seabourn 20-to-21-day Ushuaia sailings include both
Wanting the smaller ship Silversea 220 guests on Silver Endeavour vs 264 on each Seabourn ship
Wanting published expedition numbers Seabourn 24 Zodiacs, kayaks and team size are on the operator's pages
Happy to sail, want days at sea Seabourn Drake crossings both ways plus longer itineraries

There is a case for a second opinion here, because the right answer genuinely depends on your dates, budget and appetite for the sea crossing. A free Antarctica cruise consultation puts both lines in front of a specialist who books them, with no obligation attached. If you would rather keep researching first, Cruises In Antarctica holds a guide for every ship and route comparison on this page.

Common Questions About Silversea Vs Seabourn

Silversea Vs Seabourn: Which Ultra-Luxury Line Fits?

It depends on routing and length. Silversea fits travellers who want short, fly-cruise-accessible voyages on a 220-guest, all-balcony ship; Seabourn fits travellers who want longer Ushuaia-based expeditions with South Georgia options and a published fleet of 24 Zodiacs per ship.

Which line is cheaper for an Antarctica cruise?

Neither operator publishes Antarctica fares on the pages reviewed, so no number can be printed here. Both sit in the ultra-luxury band, well above the roughly $9,000 to $12,000 entry fares reported for mainstream expedition lines. A free consultation is the way to get live pricing for both.

Do both lines' ships make landings in Antarctica?

Yes. All four ships carry far fewer than 500 passengers, the threshold above which landings are prohibited, and each can land guests in rotations of up to 100 ashore at a time under IAATO rules. Silver Endeavour's 220 guests rotate faster than the 264-guest Seabourn ships.

Which line avoids the Drake Passage?

Silversea, in general. Its Antarctic ships work from Puerto Williams and King George Island, which supports fly-cruise routings that replace the sea crossing with a roughly two-hour charter flight. Seabourn's ships sail the Drake from Ushuaia both ways, typically around two days each way.

Are Seabourn Venture and Seabourn Pursuit the same ship?

They are sister ships. Venture launched in 2022 and Pursuit entered service in August 2023, both listed at 264 guests in 132 oceanfront veranda suites, built to PC6 Polar Class standards, each carrying 24 Zodiacs and kayaks.

Does Silver Wind have an ice class?

The operator does not state one on the pages reviewed, and her roster entry lists no ice class or build year, so this page claims nothing on either field. Silver Endeavour, by contrast, is published with a PC6 rating and a 2021 build year.