Seabourn Venture Vs Seabourn Pursuit: Which Seabourn Sister?
Seabourn's two purpose-built expedition ships look alike on paper, and mostly are alike in practice. This guide separates the real differences from the shared DNA so you can pick the right sister for your Antarctic voyage.
Quick answer: Seabourn Venture and Seabourn Pursuit are near-identical: 264 guests, 132 oceanfront veranda suites, PC6 Polar Class standards, 24 Zodiacs and kayaks each. Pursuit entered service in August 2023, a year after Venture launched. Neither ship has a published Antarctica fare on file, so the choice usually comes down to dates, price at the time and small onboard differences.

Seabourn runs its Antarctic program on two purpose-built expedition ships, and the operator's own materials treat them almost interchangeably. That is mostly fair: the two vessels share a design, a guest count and the same expedition hardware. The differences that do exist are small, and a few of them, like launch dates and one lounge addition, are the kind of thing a trade report notices and a passenger barely would. This comparison lays out what the operator publishes for each ship, flags what it does not publish, and tells you where the choice actually gets made: in the calendar and the fare, not in the hardware. Both ships matter to Seabourn's broader Antarctic presence, which we cover in the Seabourn Antarctica cruise guide.
Quick Facts Side By Side
On the numbers the operator publishes, Seabourn Venture and Seabourn Pursuit are the same ship built twice: 264 guests, 132 oceanfront veranda suites, PC6 Polar Class standards, 24 Zodiacs and kayaks each. Venture launched in 2022 and Pursuit entered service in August 2023. Neither ship has a published Antarctica from-fare on file, so the practical choice usually comes down to dates and the fare quoted when you ask.
The table below shows the side-by-side picture. Where a field is blank, the operator does not publish the figure, and this site does not guess it.
| Specification | Seabourn VentureSeabourn | Seabourn PursuitSeabourn |
|---|---|---|
| Operator | Seabourn | Seabourn |
| Class | Luxury | Luxury |
| Passengers | – | – |
| Built | – | – |
| Ice class | – | – |
| From, per person | – | – |
| Departs from | Ushuaia | Ushuaia |
| Voyage length | 10 to 21 days | 10 to 21 days |
| Next step | Get a free quote for Seabourn Venture | Get a free quote for Seabourn Pursuit |
Two things to read carefully in those numbers. First, the ice class wording: both ships are built to PC6 Polar Class standards, which is a genuine polar rating, not a marketing phrase, and it puts them in the same ice-class family as several other luxury expedition ships in Antarctica. Second, the capacity figure of 264 guests sits comfortably under the 500-passenger line above which vessels may not make landings in Antarctica at all, so both sisters can run the full landing program that smaller expedition ships run.
A note on what is missing. The operator's ship pages do not state either vessel's length in metres, total cabin count beyond the suite figure, or a per-voyage Antarctica fare. A trade report notes 557 feet for the sister-ship design, but since the operator does not publish the figure on the ship page itself, we print no number here. The same honesty applies throughout this guide: a field the operator does not state is stated nowhere.
Who Each Ship Is Built For
Both ships are built for the same traveller: someone who wants genuine expedition capability, Zodiacs, kayaks and a large expedition team, without giving up luxury-cruise service and all-veranda-suite accommodation. Venture suits the traveller who books early and wants the hull with a season more Antarctic operating history. Pursuit suits the traveller drawn to the newer ship and its one extra sky-top venue.
Seabourn Venture is the first of the pair, unveiled in 2022 with design details the operator published in partnership with designer Adam D. Tihany. The operator positions it as an ultra-luxury expedition vessel: 264 guests, 132 oceanfront veranda suites, a Discovery Center for lectures and briefings, and a 24-Zodiac fleet with kayaks (see Silversea Vs Seabourn). Its Antarctic season runs the standard November-to-March window with roundtrip Ushuaia departures. For a traveller weighing it against other luxury options, the Antarctica luxury cruise guide sets the wider field.
Seabourn Pursuit is the second sister, which entered service on 12 August 2023. The operator's ship page lists the same core facts: 264 guests, 132 oceanfront veranda suites, PC6 Polar Class standards, 24 Zodiacs and kayaks, a 19-person expedition team, the Spa, Seabourn Square and the Discovery Center. Its distinguishing onboard feature is the Sky Bar, an addition Venture's published facility list does not include. Otherwise the pitch is identical, and Seabourn's 2026-27 Antarctic schedule uses both ships for the same roundtrip-Ushuaia program.
Cabins And Suites
Both ships carry 132 oceanfront veranda suites, and every suite category on both vessels is a veranda suite: the operator's expedition-ship page states all suites are oceanfront veranda accommodations, with categories running from the Veranda Suite up through Penthouse Suite. There is no inside cabin, no porthole cabin and no lower-category berth on either ship, so the cabin decision between the two sisters is really a category decision, not a ship decision.
That uniformity is unusual in Antarctica. On most expedition ships the price spread runs from a shared quad with portholes to an owner's suite, and the cheapest berth can cost a third of the top one. On Venture and Pursuit the floor is a proper veranda suite, which is one reason the entry price for these voyages sits in luxury territory. The Antarctica cruise cost guide breaks down where that money goes across the market.

| Cabin fact | Seabourn Venture | Seabourn Pursuit |
|---|---|---|
| Total suites | 132 oceanfront veranda suites | 132 oceanfront veranda suites |
| Entry category | Veranda Suite | Veranda Suite |
| Upper published category | Penthouse Suite and others | Penthouse Suite and others |
| Balconies | All suites oceanfront veranda | All suites oceanfront veranda |
| Guests | 264 | 264 |
The operator's pages do not publish suite sizes, bed configurations or a full category-by-category deck plan for the Antarctic program, so we do not print them. What the pages do make clear is the design philosophy: no guest on either ship is more than one deck away from an outside view, and the veranda is standard rather than an upgrade.
If the suite category is where your budget decision lives, it is worth getting a current quote for both ships on your dates before choosing, since suite availability shifts the price far more than the ship does. You can start that with a free consultation on Seabourn suite options.
Food, Lounges, And Life Onboard
Both ships run the same dining architecture: The Restaurant as the main venue, a sushi option, and eight dining experiences across the vessel, as the operator's press materials describe. Both carry the Spa, a Fitness Center, Seabourn Square as the library-and-service hub, the Expedition Lounge and the Constellation Lounge. The one published difference is the Sky Bar, listed on Pursuit's ship page and not on Venture's.
Life aboard is where these ships feel least like traditional expedition vessels. The operator's framing is ultra-luxury: full service in the lounges, a spa and fitness center, and a Discovery Center that serves as the theatre for expedition briefings and lectures. The expedition team, 19 to 26 members depending on the source, delivers the science-and-history programming there, and the Zodiac fleet is boarded through a dedicated Mud Room, the same arrangement on both sisters.
There is no casino-style showroom or production theatre on either ship, and the operator does not publish a pool listing for the expedition pair. The entertainment is the destination: the daily briefing, the shore program, and the long light of an Antarctic evening from the lounges. On the Drake crossing days, the lounges and the lecture program fill the transit; the Drake Passage crossing guide explains what those two days at sea actually involve.
Which lounge set matters to you is a thin basis for choosing between sisters, but it is the honest one: the published onboard differences begin and end with the Sky Bar.
Itineraries And Routes
Both ships sail the same Antarctic program from Ushuaia: voyages of 10 to 12 days on the Peninsula and 20 or 21 days adding South Georgia and the Falkland Islands. Seabourn's 2026-27 season schedules 19 roundtrip Ushuaia sailings across the two ships between November 2026 and March 2027. Neither ship's fare is on file, so the table shows voyage shapes, not prices.
The core product is the classic Antarctic Peninsula itinerary, covered in detail in the Antarctic Peninsula cruise guide: the South Shetland Islands, the Gerlache Strait's bays and channels, and landings timed to the IAATO rules described below. The longer sailings add South Georgia, king penguin colonies and all, plus the Falklands, roughly doubling the days at sea.
| Voyage shape | Days | Departure port | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peninsula voyage | 10-12 | Ushuaia roundtrip | Core itinerary on both ships |
| Falklands, South Georgia, Antarctica | 20-21 | Ushuaia roundtrip | Extended combo, both ships |
| Season window | Nov 2026 - Mar 2027 | Ushuaia | 19 sailings across the pair |
One planning note that matters more than any ship difference: the season is short and the ships are few. With 19 departures split across two vessels, the 20-day South Georgia combinations are the scarce product, and the operator's booking patterns for peak December and January sailings run far ahead of the shoulder months. If a specific date window is fixed, the ship choice may make itself.

Expedition Team, Landings, And Activities
Both ships carry 24 Zodiacs and kayaks, with an expedition team the operator sizes at 19 to 26 members, including a stated 19-person team on Pursuit. Zodiac cruising and shore landings are the core daily activity on both. Neither ship's published materials list helicopters or submarines for the Antarctic program. The landing rules shaping every day ashore are identical: no more than 100 passengers ashore at once, and a 1:20 guide-to-visitor ratio.
Those rules come from the Antarctic Treaty system's visitor guidelines, which IAATO operators follow: a vessel may put a maximum of 100 passengers ashore at any one time unless site guidance requires fewer, and only one ship may visit a site at a time. With 264 guests, both Seabourn sisters run a split-operation model on landing days, half the ship ashore or in Zodiacs while the other half attends briefings or cruises, then a swap. It works, but it is worth knowing that a 264-guest ship lands differently from a 130-guest one.
| Expedition fact | Seabourn Venture | Seabourn Pursuit |
|---|---|---|
| Zodiacs | 24 | 24 |
| Kayaks | Yes | Yes |
| Expedition team | 19-26 members across sources | 19-person team stated |
| Helicopters / submarines | Not stated by operator | Not stated by operator |
| Guests vs 100-ashore rule | 264 guests, split operations | 264 guests, split operations |
The operator's press materials mention submersibles in some expedition descriptions elsewhere in its program; the Antarctic ship pages do not list them for these voyages, so nothing is promised here. The same discipline applies to camping and snowshoeing: neither ship's Antarctic materials list them, so we do not either.
For a fuller picture of how a 264-guest luxury ship fits into the wider expedition fleet, and how it compares with Silversea's PC6 flagship, see the Silver Endeavour vs Seabourn Venture comparison.
If the landing style, one ship, 100 ashore, Zodiac swaps, is the part you want to talk through before committing, a chat about expedition operations on both ships costs nothing.
Prices And What The Fare Includes
Neither Seabourn Venture nor Seabourn Pursuit has a published Antarctica fare on file, so no number is printed for either ship. The operator publishes the shape of the product instead: all-veranda-suite accommodation and a full expedition program with Zodiacs and kayaks. For market context, live 2027-28 Antarctic itineraries across ten lines ranged from $11,321 to over $28,500 per person.
The honest position on Seabourn pricing is that it moves with demand, suite category and booking window, and that the operator's own pages do not publish an Antarctica from-fare for either sister. Early-booking offers across the 2026-27 and 2027-28 seasons commonly reach 10 to 30 percent off, according to operator calendars and trade reports, and single supplements across the market typically run from 25 percent extra to double the twin rate. One 2026 cost guide reports that the cheapest published Peninsula fares on mainstream expedition lines ran in the region of $9,000 to $12,000 per person. None of that is a Seabourn-specific figure, and it should not be read as one.
| Cost factor | Seabourn Venture | Seabourn Pursuit |
|---|---|---|
| Published Antarctica from-fare | Not on file | Not on file |
| Suite floor | Veranda Suite | Veranda Suite |
| Typical market context | $11,321 - $28,500+ pp across lines, 2027-28 | Same season context |
| Booking levers | Early-booking offers, suite category, date | Same |
What the fare includes on these ships, drinks, gratuities, expedition gear, is not itemized on the operator's ship pages, so we state nothing specific. Rather than guess, get the current numbers for your dates and category in writing: the consultation this site offers is free, with no obligation, and the fare question is exactly what it is for.
The Real Differences
The concrete differences between the sisters are few: Pursuit is newer, entering service in August 2023 against Venture's 2022 launch; Pursuit's published facility list includes the Sky Bar and Venture's does not; and the two ships' expedition-team descriptions differ slightly in how the operator words them. Everything else published, capacity, suites, ice class, Zodiacs, kayaks, dining architecture, is identical, and the real decision is which ship sails on the date you can travel.
Counted out, the contrasts look like this:
- Age. Venture launched in 2022; Pursuit entered service on 12 August 2023. A year of extra Antarctic operating history sits with Venture.
- The Sky Bar. Listed on Pursuit's ship page, absent from Venture's published facility list. It is the only onboard amenity difference the sources show.
- Team wording. Pursuit's page states a 19-person expedition team; Venture's materials describe the team across a 19-to-26 range depending on the source. In practice both carry large teams by industry standards.
- Schedule. The 19 Ushuaia roundtrips of the 2026-27 season are split across both ships, so specific dates, especially the 20-day South Georgia sailings, may only exist on one sister.
- Price. With no published fares on file for either ship, the fare difference between sisters on any given date is unknowable from public pages, and can run either way.
- Everything else. 264 guests, 132 veranda suites, PC6 standards, 24 Zodiacs, eight dining experiences, the Spa, Seabourn Square, the Discovery Center: identical on paper.
The honest note is that these are sister ships in the fullest sense. If someone tells you one is dramatically better for Antarctica than the other, ask what published fact they are standing on; the operator's own pages do not make that case, and neither does Cruises In Antarctica.
Which One To Choose By Travel Style
Choose by date and price, not by hardware: the ships are near-identical, so the traveller type maps to itinerary length and suite category far more than to which sister sails it. Take the 10-to-12-day Peninsula voyage if this is a first Antarctic trip, the 20-to-21-day South Georgia combination if wildlife is the point, and whichever ship your dates land on. The table below maps the common traveller types to a pick.

| Traveller type | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| First-time Antarctic visitor | Either ship, 10-12 day Peninsula voyage | Core landing program, shortest time commitment |
| Wildlife-first traveller | Either ship, 20-21 day South Georgia combo | King penguin colonies and seal beaches |
| Newest-ship devotee | Seabourn Pursuit | Entered service August 2023, Sky Bar |
| Traveller with fixed dates | Whichever sister sails that week | Schedule, not specs, decides |
| Suite-category upgrader | Compare both ships' availability | Category choice outweighs ship choice |
| Comfort-first cruiser | Either | Identical veranda-suite floor and service |
If after all this the choice still feels like a coin flip, that is because the published facts make it one. What breaks the tie is live availability and the current fare on your specific dates, which is precisely the question a consultation answers: compare both sisters for your dates and decide with real numbers in front of you.
Common Questions About Seabourn Venture Vs Seabourn Pursuit
Seabourn Venture vs Seabourn Pursuit: which is better for Antarctica?
On published facts, neither is better. Both carry 264 guests, 132 oceanfront veranda suites, PC6 Polar Class standards, 24 Zodiacs and kayaks. Pursuit is newer by about a year and lists a Sky Bar; Venture has a season more operating history. The decision usually comes down to dates and the fare quoted at the time.
Are the two Seabourn expedition ships identical?
Nearly. They share capacity, suite count and category structure, ice class, Zodiac fleet, dining architecture and expedition program. The published differences are the launch years, 2022 versus August 2023, and the Sky Bar on Pursuit's facility list.
How much does a Seabourn Antarctica cruise cost on these ships?
No published Antarctica fare is on file for either ship, so no number is printed here. For market context, live 2027-28 Antarctic itineraries across ten lines ranged from $11,321 to more than $28,500 per person. A current Seabourn quote needs a consultation.
Do both ships make landings in Antarctica?
Yes. At 264 guests both sit well under the 500-passenger limit above which vessels may not make landings, and both run Zodiac operations under the standard rules: a maximum of 100 passengers ashore at a time and a 1:20 guide-to-visitor ratio.
Do Seabourn Venture or Seabourn Pursuit have helicopters or submarines in Antarctica?
The operator's Antarctic ship pages list 24 Zodiacs and kayaks for both vessels, and state nothing about helicopters or submarines on these voyages. This site claims no activity a source does not list.
Which ship sails the South Georgia itineraries?
Both do. Seabourn's 2026-27 season schedules 19 roundtrip Ushuaia sailings across the two ships, including 20-plus-day voyages that add South Georgia and the Falkland Islands. Which sister sails a given departure depends on the week, so check the schedule for your dates.





