Scenic Eclipse Vs Silver Endeavour: Which Discovery Yacht?
Two luxury discovery yachts of almost identical scale, the same ice class, and neither with a published fare. Here is what actually separates them.
Quick answer: Scenic Eclipse and Silver Endeavour are both Polar Class 6 luxury ships of roughly 220 guests with all-balcony suites and no published Antarctica from-price. Scenic's material lists two helicopters and a submersible; Silversea lists six- to thirteen-day voyages from King George Island and Puerto Williams. The right pick depends on hardware versus schedule, not overall quality.

Quick Facts Side By Side
Both ships are Polar Class 6 luxury expedition vessels of almost identical scale, roughly 220 guests each, with balconies across the cabin categories and neither operator publishing an Antarctica from-price. The genuine fork is hardware and route: Scenic's material lists two helicopters and a submersible, while Silversea lists shorter voyages and the King George Island fly gateway.
On paper this is one of the closest pairings in Antarctic cruising. Scenic Eclipse and Silver Endeavour sit in the same luxury class, carry a similar number of guests, and hold the same Polar Class 6 notation, so neither can claim a real edge in ice capability (see Eclipse Vs Eclipse II). Anyone booking a cabin on either cruise is choosing between a hardware-led expedition platform and a schedule-led one, and the rest of this guide works through that choice section by section.
One transparency note before the numbers. Scenic does not break Eclipse out with a full standalone spec page; the operator's published figures for the ship come from its class material, detailed on the sister ship's page, and this guide says so wherever it matters. Silversea publishes a full ship page for Endeavour, though it stops short of fares and itinerary specifics.
| Specification | Scenic EclipseScenic | Silver EndeavourSilversea |
|---|---|---|
| Operator | Scenic | Silversea |
| Class | Luxury | Luxury |
| Passengers | – | 220 |
| Built | – | – |
| Ice class | – | PC6 |
| From, per person | – | – |
| Departs from | – | King George Island, Puerto Williams |
| Voyage length | 13 to 22 days | 6 to 13 days |
| Next step | Get a free quote for Scenic Eclipse | Get a free quote for Silver Endeavour |
Who Each Ship Is Built For
Scenic Eclipse suits travellers who want the maximum activity menu on one hull, since the operator's material lists two helicopters, a submersible, Zodiacs, kayaks and paddleboards on the ship. Silver Endeavour suits travellers who prioritise schedule and access, with voyage lengths from six days and King George Island among its listed ports.
Scenic Eclipse is the operator's "discovery yacht" concept taken literally: a 168-metre luxury ship that carries expedition hardware most vessels leave ashore. The operator's class material lists two helicopters and one submersible alongside a fleet of Zodiacs, kayaks and stand-up paddleboards, which makes the ship a natural fit for travellers who treat the cruise as an activity platform rather than a floating hotel. The trade-off is weight of expectation, because helicopter and submarine flights depend on weather, ice and availability, and no operator can promise them on a given sailing. If that activity-led pitch is what drew you to Antarctic cruising in the first place, the deeper Scenic Eclipse ship guide works through the ship in detail, and our overview of the luxury Antarctica cruise tier places it among its peers.
Silver Endeavour, built in 2021 per the Silversea ship page, is aimed at a different buyer: someone who wants the shortest possible exposure to the Drake Passage and the most time-efficient route to the Peninsula. The operator's listed ports include King George Island, the fly-in gateway, alongside Puerto Williams, and the roster of voyage lengths runs from six to thirteen days, including options far shorter than Eclipse's listed thirteen to twenty-two days. Silversea's page also stresses its Zodiac-to-guest and expert-to-guest ratios, described as industry-leading, though exact counts are not published. For a reader weighing the wider Silversea fleet rather than one ship, the Silversea Antarctica cruise guide covers the line's approach.
Cabins And Suites
Scenic's class material lists 114 suites on Eclipse, with private verandahs from the Verandah category upward, while Silversea does not publish a cabin count for Endeavour but does state that every suite features a balcony. Neither ship offers a published fare, so cabin category is a question of layout and position rather than a price ladder you can read online.
The cabin story is where the two ships feel most alike. Both are all-suite luxury vessels where a private outdoor space is the norm rather than an upgrade, and both stack their categories from a standard verandah product up to sprawling owner-level suites at the top.

The differences are in the naming and the published detail. Scenic's categories run from Verandah and Deluxe through Spa Suites and Panorama Suites to the Owner's Penthouse Suite and a Two-Bedroom Owner's Penthouse Suite. Silversea names nine categories for Endeavour, from Classic Veranda up through Silver, Signature, Master and Grand Suites to the Owner's Suite, and states plainly that all suites feature a balcony.
| Cabin question | Scenic Eclipse | Silver Endeavour |
|---|---|---|
| Published suite count | 114 (operator's class material, detailed on the sister ship's page) | Not stated on the operator's ship page |
| Balconies | Private verandahs on Verandah suites and above | Every suite features a balcony |
| Top categories | Owner's Penthouse Suite, Two-Bedroom Owner's Penthouse Suite, Panorama and Grand Panorama Suites | Owner's Suite, Grand Suite, Master Suite, Signature Suite |
| Core categories | Verandah, Deluxe and Grand Deluxe, Spa Suite | Silver Suite, Premium, Deluxe, Superior and Classic Veranda Suites |
One planning point for solo travellers booking a cabin on either cruise: neither operator's ship page itemises single-supplement policy for these vessels. Industry pricing reports put single supplements across Antarctic cruising at anywhere from 25 percent above the twin rate to 1.5 or 2 times it, with waivers on select sailings, so the supplement is worth pinning down before you fall for a specific suite.
Food, Lounges, And Life Onboard
Eclipse's class material promises up to ten dining experiences plus a Senses Spa, Vitality pools, a gym, a yoga and Pilates studio, an Observation Lounge and a theatre. Endeavour's page names five dining venues, Il Terrazzino, The Restaurant, The Grill, La Dame and Arts Café, alongside the Otium Spa, a Pool Deck, Explorer and Observation Lounges, a library and a fitness centre.
Both ships run a resort-style model rather than a single dining room, which matters on an expedition cruise because sea days, and Eclipse in particular has long ones, need to be filled. Scenic's up-to-ten dining experiences is the broader menu on paper, though the operator does not publish the full venue list for Eclipse itself, so treat that figure as a class-level promise. Silversea's five named venues are concrete and verifiable on the ship page, and the line's all-inclusive onboard culture means the difference in practice is smaller than the counts suggest.
Where the ships diverge is atmosphere. Eclipse reads as a larger, fuller-featured resort at sea, with a theatre and a spa-led wellness zone for the long transits. Endeavour, with a published build year of 2021 and a smaller published footprint of amenities, reads as the more intimate of the two, and its Mud Room, the dedicated gear-up space for landings, signals where the operator's priorities sit. Neither page publishes dress codes, beverage inclusions or gratuities policy in the sections read for this comparison, so those are questions for a consultation rather than assumptions.
Itineraries And Routes
Eclipse's listed voyage lengths run 13, 16, 20 and 22 days with no ports stated on the operator's page, while Endeavour lists 6, 9, 10 and 13 days with King George Island and Puerto Williams among its ports. That gap is the single biggest practical difference between the two cruises: time.
The route question is really a Drake Passage question. A traditional sailing crossing takes roughly 18 to 24 hours in optimal conditions and 36 to 48 in rougher seas, according to Quark's operator-published guide to the passage, and a fly-cruise charter to King George Island takes around two hours, skipping the open-ocean transit entirely. Our Drake Passage crossing guide works through that trade-off in depth.
Endeavour's port list, which includes King George Island, points squarely at fly-access itineraries: the ship can meet its guests on the Antarctic side, which is how a six-day Antarctic voyage becomes physically possible. Eclipse's listed 13-day minimum, by contrast, is a classic full-length expedition cruise, and its 20- and 22-day options suggest Falklands and South Georgia territory, though the operator's page does not state the routing for specific 2026-27 departures. For what those long days actually buy you in landings and wildlife, the Antarctic Peninsula cruise guide covers the classic route both ships ultimately serve.

| Route question | Scenic Eclipse | Silver Endeavour |
|---|---|---|
| Listed voyage lengths | 13, 16, 20 and 22 days | 6, 9, 10 and 13 days |
| Listed ports | Not stated on the operator's page | King George Island, Puerto Williams |
| Published from-price | None; a current fare needs a consultation | None; a current fare needs a consultation |
| Shortest realistic commitment | Around two weeks | Under a week |
If your calendar is the constraint rather than your budget, that table decides the pairing on its own, and a free consultation on dates and routes can confirm which departures actually run in the season you can travel.
Expedition Team, Landings, And Activities
Both ships sit far below the 500-passenger threshold that bans landings in Antarctica, so guests on either cruise go ashore, in groups capped at 100 passengers at a time with a minimum one-to-twenty guide ratio. Eclipse's sourced activity list includes two helicopters, a submersible, Zodiacs, kayaks and paddleboards; Endeavour's page lists its Zodiac operation and Mud Room but does not state kayak or helicopter programs.
The regulatory frame is identical for both vessels, and it is worth knowing before you book any Antarctic cruise. Under the visitor guidelines adopted through the Antarctic Treaty system, vessels carrying more than 500 fare-paying passengers are prohibited from making landings, a maximum of 100 passengers may be ashore from a vessel at any one time unless site guidance requires fewer, and operators must maintain at least one actively guiding staff member for every twenty visitors. At roughly 220 guests each, both ships clear the first bar comfortably and rotate everyone ashore in two shifts at most sites.
The hardware differs. Scenic's material lists two helicopters and one submersible for Eclipse, plus Zodiacs, kayaks and stand-up paddleboards, which is the widest activity spread of any ship in this comparison. Silversea's Endeavour page describes industry-leading Zodiac-to-guest and expert-to-guest ratios and a Mud Room for expedition activities, but the page does not state kayak, camping, helicopter or submarine programs for the ship, and this guide will not claim activities a source does not list.
One honest caution on the headline hardware: helicopter and submarine flights are condition-dependent anywhere in Antarctica, and no source promises them on a given departure. Treat them as a possibility that shapes the ship's design, not as a guaranteed line item in the fare.
Prices And What The Fare Includes
Neither operator publishes an Antarctica from-price for these ships in USD, so no number appears here for either one; both fares need a live consultation. What the sources do support is the planning frame: single supplements, daily gratuities and evacuation insurance sit on top of the cruise fare on essentially every luxury Antarctic sailing.
This is the least satisfying section to write and the most important to get right. Scenic's site presents its pricing in AUD and does not post a USD from-price for Eclipse's Antarctic voyages on the pages read for this comparison; Silversea's Endeavour page stops before fares entirely. Rather than print a guess, the honest answer is that current fares for both ships come through a free fare comparison consultation, which costs nothing and carries no obligation.
For context around the booking, one 2026 cost guide reports that live Antarctic itineraries across ten lines range from $11,321 to more than $28,500 per person, and that a realistic all-in budget for a mid-range ten- to twelve-day Peninsula trip, fare plus flights, gear, tips and insurance, runs $12,000 to $25,000 per person. Luxury berths on these two ships sit toward the upper end of any such range, but neither operator's page itemises drinks, gratuities, parkas or flights for these vessels, so inclusion lists are a consultation question too. Our full Antarctica cruise cost guide breaks down where the money goes.
| Cost item | What the sources say | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Published cruise fare | Neither operator posts a USD from-price for these ships; current fares need a consultation | Operator ship pages |
| Single supplement | Typically 25 percent extra up to 1.5 to 2 times the twin rate, sometimes waived on select sailings | Industry pricing reports |
| Gratuities | Budget around $16 per person per day where not prepaid | One 2026 cost guide |
| Insurance | Medical evacuation cover is required or recommended by most operators and is never in the base fare | Operator policies and cost guides |
Neither ship's fare is a number you can verify on a listing today, and any site that prints one for these two vessels without saying where it read it is guessing.
The Real Differences
Six contrasts survive fact-checking: activity hardware, voyage length, gateway ports, published build year, dining breadth and cabin-count transparency. On ice class, guest count, balcony coverage and overall positioning, the two ships are near-identical, and no honest comparison should pretend otherwise.
Here are the differences that are actually sourced, stripped of marketing:

- Activity hardware. Eclipse's material lists two helicopters and a submersible; Silversea's page for Endeavour does not state either. If flightseeing or a submarine descent is the dream, the sources point one way only.
- Time commitment. Eclipse lists 13 to 22 day voyages; Endeavour lists 6 to 13. A traveller with two free weeks and a traveller with one free week are not looking at the same ship.
- Gateway. Endeavour's listed ports include King George Island and Puerto Williams, the fly-cruise pattern; Eclipse's page states no ports, and its day counts imply full Drake sailings.
- Build-year transparency. Silversea publishes 2021 for Endeavour; Scenic does not publish a build year for Eclipse in the material read here, so no number is claimed.
- Dining breadth. Up to ten dining experiences on Eclipse's class material versus five named venues on Endeavour's page, though Scenic's figure is a class-level promise rather than an Eclipse-specific list.
- Cabin-count transparency. 114 suites published for the Eclipse class; no count published for Endeavour, only nine named categories.
The near-identical list matters just as much: both Polar Class 6, both around 220 guests, both all-balcony luxury, both with spas and observation lounges and serious expedition programs. When I looked hard at this pairing, what struck me was how much of the decision collapses into one question about time and one about hardware, and once you answer those two, the rest follows. That is also why Cruises In Antarctica treats ships this similar as a genuine either-or rather than a ranking.
Which One To Choose By Travel Style
Choose Eclipse for the activity ceiling and long, deep voyages; choose Endeavour for short, efficient trips built around the fly gateway and a published 2021 build. For every other traveller type the two ships overlap heavily, and the deciding input is usually live fare and date availability rather than specs.
| If you are this traveller | The better fit | The sourced reason |
|---|---|---|
| Helicopter and submarine flights are the dream | Scenic Eclipse | Two helicopters and a submersible are listed in the operator's material |
| You have one week, not three | Silver Endeavour | Six- and nine-day voyages listed, with King George Island among the ports |
| You want Falklands and South Georgia territory | Scenic Eclipse | 20- and 22-day voyages listed |
| You want the newest published hardware | Silver Endeavour | Build year 2021 stated on the ship page |
| You judge ships by dining variety | Scenic Eclipse | Up to ten dining experiences in the class material |
| You want the crossing itself, sea days and all | Scenic Eclipse | 13-day minimum implies full Drake sailings |
If you land in the overlap, and most readers will, the practical next step is not more spec-reading but a free consultation before booking the cruise: live fares, real departure dates and cabin availability for both ships, with no obligation attached.
Common Questions About Scenic Eclipse Vs Silver Endeavour
Does Silver Endeavour have helicopters or a submarine like Scenic Eclipse?
Silversea's ship page does not state helicopter or submarine programs for Endeavour, so this guide claims none. Scenic's material lists two helicopters and one submersible on Eclipse. Treat any activity of that kind as condition-dependent even where it is listed.
Do both ships actually land passengers in Antarctica?
Yes. Both carry roughly 220 guests, far below the 500-passenger threshold above which vessels are prohibited from making landings. Ashore, no more than 100 passengers from a vessel may be on land at one time, with a minimum one-to-twenty guide ratio.
How much does a cabin cost on each cruise?
Neither operator publishes a USD from-price for these ships' Antarctic voyages, so no number is printed here. Current fares for both ships come through a free consultation, and the consultation carries no obligation.
Can you avoid the Drake Passage on Silver Endeavour?
The operator's listed ports for Endeavour include King George Island, the fly-in gateway, alongside Puerto Williams, and its voyage lengths run as short as six days, which points to fly-access itineraries. The operator's page does not spell out per-departure routing, so confirm the exact plan for a specific date before booking.
Which ship is newer?
Silversea states a 2021 build year for Endeavour. Scenic does not publish a build year for Eclipse in the material read for this comparison, so this guide makes no claim on Eclipse's age.
Are both ships Polar Class 6?
Yes. Silversea's fleet page gives Endeavour a PC6 ice-class rating, and Scenic's class material lists Polar Class 6 for the Eclipse platform. In ice capability the pair is effectively level.





