Swan Hellenic Minerva Vs Swan Hellenic Diana: Which Swan Hellenic Ship?
Swan Hellenic's two PC5 sister ships sail the same Antarctic waters at noticeably different price points. Here is how SH Minerva and SH Diana actually differ, and which one fits your trip.
Quick answer: SH Minerva carries 152 guests and was built in 2021; SH Diana carries 192 and was built in 2023. Both have PC5 ice-strengthened hulls, Zodiacs and kayaking, and sail similar 9 to 23 night Antarctic voyages from Ushuaia. One 2026-27 Antarctic Wonders departure lists from $11,675 per person on Minerva and from $9,800 on Diana.

Swan Hellenic operates a small fleet of purpose-built polar cruise ships, and two of them, SH Minerva and SH Diana, spend the austral summer working the Antarctic Peninsula. They share the same PC5 ice-strengthened hull standard, the same expedition model and largely the same route options, so the choice between them usually comes down to capacity, price and departure dates rather than anything dramatic. The operator's ship pages show where the real differences sit, and one 2026-27 listing shows an Antarctic Wonders voyage from $11,675 per person on Minerva while a comparable Diana departure lists from $9,800.
This comparison walks through both ships field by field: who each is built for, cabins, onboard life, itineraries, expedition operations, fares, and finally which one suits which traveller. The rest of Cruises In Antarctica covers operators, routes and costs in depth; if you are still narrowing the operator itself before the ship, our best Antarctica cruise guide covers the wider field, and the Antarctica cruise cost guide sets out the full budget picture, flights and insurance included.
Quick Facts Side By Side
The two ships are closer than they are different: both are PC5 ice-strengthened, both carry Zodiacs and kayaks, and both run 9 to 23 night Antarctic voyages from Ushuaia. SH Minerva is the smaller and older of the two at 152 guests, built in 2021, while SH Diana, built in 2023, carries 192. On comparable 2026-27 Antarctic Wonders departures, the published listings open at $11,675 per person on Minerva and $9,800 on Diana.
| Specification | SH MinervaSwan Hellenic | SH DianaSwan Hellenic |
|---|---|---|
| Operator | Swan Hellenic | Swan Hellenic |
| Class | Standard Expedition | Standard Expedition |
| Passengers | 152 | 192 |
| Built | 2021 | 2023 |
| Ice class | PC5 | PC5 |
| From, per person | from $11,675 | from $9,800 |
| Departs from | Ushuaia | Cape Town, Ushuaia |
| Voyage length | 9 to 23 days | 9 to 23 days |
| Next step | Get a free quote for SH Minerva | Get a free quote for SH Diana |
The headline differences are capacity and age. A 152-guest ship against a 192-guest ship is not a huge gap by industry standards, but in Antarctica it matters more than it would in the Caribbean, because landing rules cap how many people can be ashore at once. Both ships sit comfortably under the limits, so neither is at a structural disadvantage for landings.
What the table cannot show is feel. Minerva was the first of Swan Hellenic's purpose-built ships and set the template; Diana is the third and larger of the class, and the operator positions her on a mix of Antarctic and longer sub-Antarctic routings, including Cape Town departures. Neither ship has a published ice class beyond PC5, and neither needs one for Peninsula work.
Who Each Ship Is Built For
SH Minerva suits travellers who want the smaller of the two ships and the lower headcount on landings, at a modest fare premium on comparable departures. SH Diana suits travellers who want the newer ship, are happy with a larger guest list, and would rather keep the fare down or use the saving on a longer voyage. Both deliver the same Swan Hellenic expedition model: expert-led lectures, Zodiac landings and kayaking.
SH Minerva, built at Helsinki Shipyard in 2021, was the ship that relaunched the Swan Hellenic name. The operator's page lists 152 guests in 76 staterooms, an ice-strengthened PC5 hull, a swimming pool with bar and grill, a club lounge, observation lounge, gym, sauna, jacuzzi, spa and a stargazing deck. Her expedition kit includes 10 MK5 and 2 MK6 Zodiacs, with kayaking and polar plunge mentioned in the itineraries. She is a comfortable, mid-sized expedition ship rather than a luxury liner, and her itineraries lean on the classic Peninsula cruise routes from Ushuaia.
SH Diana, built in 2023, is the bigger sister: the operator lists her at 192 guests, with the same PC5 ice-strengthened hull and the same core activity set of Zodiacs and kayaking. Her published ports include both Ushuaia and Cape Town, which reflects the longer sub-Antarctic itineraries she works, such as 23-night runs that stitch together South Georgia and the Peninsula or even the Atlantic side of the map. If your interest runs beyond the Peninsula to the bigger Southern Ocean story, Diana's schedule is where those voyages appear.
In practice, many travellers end up choosing on dates and fare rather than on ship personality, and that is a reasonable way to do it. If you are weighing Swan Hellenic against other operators entirely, the Antarctic Peninsula cruise guide explains what these voyages actually do day to day.
Cabins And Suites
SH Minerva has 76 staterooms for 152 guests, and the operator's page shows balcony categories such as a Balcony D5 of about 25 square metres with a 5 square metre balcony. SH Diana's cabin count is not stated on the operator's page; the operator lists her at 192 passengers. Both ships offer balcony accommodation, but the operator does not publish a full category list for either vessel.
The honest position on cabins is that Swan Hellenic's ship pages are thinner than most operators' on cabin detail. For Minerva, the page confirms balcony staterooms exist and gives one worked example with dimensions; for Diana, the page confirms the ship but not a cabin-by-cabin breakdown. What is known is summarised below, with the gaps left as gaps rather than filled with guesses.
| Field | SH Minerva | SH Diana |
|---|---|---|
| Guests | 152 | 192 |
| Cabins or suites | 76 staterooms | Not stated on the operator's page |
| Balconies | Balcony staterooms, e.g. Balcony D5, about 25 m² with 5 m² balcony | Balcony accommodation available; full category list not published |
| Build year | 2021, Helsinki Shipyard | 2023 |
| Hull | PC5 ice-strengthened | PC5 ice-strengthened |
What this means practically: neither ship is a bargain-basement quad-and-porthole operation, and neither is an all-suite luxury ship. The cabin stock on Minerva skews toward outside and balcony accommodation, which is the modern standard for purpose-built polar vessels of this generation. If a specific cabin category matters to you, whether it is a solo arrangement or a particular deck, that detail is worth confirming before you commit, and a free consultation on cabin choice is the quickest way to see open cabins in a given category on a given departure.

Food, Lounges, And Life Onboard
SH Minerva's page lists a swimming pool with pool bar and grill, a club lounge, an observation lounge, a gym, sauna, jacuzzi, spa and a stargazing deck. SH Diana's operator page does not publish a comparable facility list; the confirmed facts are that she is a standard expedition ship with Zodiacs and kayaking. Neither ship's page itemises dining venues by name.
On Minerva, the onboard picture is reasonably clear. The pool and pool bar and grill give her a genuinely sociable outdoor space, unusual on polar ships, and the club lounge plus observation lounge give you both a gathering spot and a quiet one. The spa, sauna and jacuzzi round out the wellness side. The operator's page describes her restaurants only in general terms, so do not expect a named-venue dining breakdown the way larger luxury lines publish.
For Diana, the operator's ship page simply does not go into the same depth on facilities. That is a gap, not a red flag: she is the same generation of purpose-built polar ship from the same yard family, but the honest answer is that the operator does not publish the list, and any claim about her dining venues or lounges beyond that would be invented. If onboard amenities are a deciding factor for you, ask the question directly rather than assuming parity.
The general rule for this class of ship applies to both: life onboard is built around the expedition programme, with lectures and briefings in the day and a relaxed, unstructured evening. Nobody books this style of expedition cruise for the theatre show; they book it for the landing at Neko Harbour the following morning.
Itineraries And Routes
Both ships run Antarctic voyages from Ushuaia in the 9 to 23 night range, including an 11-night Antarctic Wonders roundtrip that appears in both ships' 2026-27 schedules. SH Diana additionally lists Cape Town among her departure ports, reflecting longer sub-Antarctic voyages. Published from-prices on those listings run $11,675 per person on Minerva and $9,800 on Diana for comparable November 2026 departures.
The route map for both ships is the familiar Peninsula architecture: shorter Antarctic Wonders-style roundtrips from Ushuaia, longer Falklands and South Georgia combinations, and, on Diana, the long Cape Town-linked runs that cross the whole South Atlantic. The table below pulls the published itinerary data together.
| Field | SH Minerva | SH Diana |
|---|---|---|
| Departure ports | Ushuaia | Ushuaia, Cape Town |
| Voyage lengths | 9 / 11 / 17 / 20 / 23 nights | 9 / 11 / 17 / 20 / 23 nights |
| Example 2026-27 voyage | Antarctic Wonders, Ushuaia roundtrip, 11 nights, 11-20 Nov 2026, from $11,675 pp | Antarctic Wonders, Ushuaia roundtrip, 11 nights, 12-21 Nov 2026, from $9,800 pp |
| Fare status | Operator materials, unverified | Operator materials, unverified |
Two honest caveats on those fares. First, both figures were read from the operator's materials by a live search rather than verified directly on the booking page, so treat them as indicative and confirm before planning around them. Second, an 11-night November departure is early season: you get more pristine snow and ice at the landing sites, and slightly more unpredictable weather, a trade-off covered properly in our Drake Passage crossing guide, since every Ushuaia departure involves that crossing.
The route overlap is close enough that for a classic Peninsula cruise, the ship choice rarely changes what you see. It changes who you see it with, and what you pay.

Expedition Team, Landings, And Activities
SH Minerva carries 10 MK5 and 2 MK6 Zodiacs, with kayaking and polar plunge named in her itineraries; SH Diana's listing confirms Zodiacs and kayaking. Neither ship's published materials list helicopters, submarines, camping or snowshoeing for these vessels. Antarctica's landing rules cap vessels at 500 passengers for landings and 100 passengers ashore at a time, and both ships sit far under those limits.
The regulatory frame is worth knowing because it explains why ship size matters here. Under the Antarctic Treaty system's visitor guidelines, vessels carrying more than 500 fare-paying passengers are prohibited from making landings, a maximum of 100 passengers may be ashore from a vessel at any one time, and operators must maintain a 1:20 guide-to-visitor ratio during landings, per IAATO's published guidelines. Only one ship may visit a site at a time. At 152 guests, Minerva can land her full complement in two rotations; at 192, Diana needs two comfortable rotations as well. The practical difference on shore is small.
One operational change is new this season: IAATO has introduced a voluntary geofenced whale area around the South Orkney Islands with a 10-knot speed restriction from 1 November to 30 May, running an initial two-year period from 2026-27, per a Seatrade Cruise News report. It affects how ships including these two move through that stretch of the Southern Ocean.
On activities, the published details are specific and modest. Minerva: Zodiacs (10 MK5, 2 MK6), kayaking, polar plunge. Diana: Zodiacs, kayaking. Neither source mentions helicopters or submarines, which some larger luxury expedition ships carry, and neither mentions camping or snowshoeing (see Endeavour Vs Venture). If those activities are on your must-have list, this operator may not be the right fit at all, and it is better to know that now than at the kayak briefing.
The landing experience itself is governed by the same site rules on both ships: keep at least five metres from wildlife, follow guide instructions, and clean boots and gear between sites as the biosecurity protocols require. The expedition teams on both vessels run the lecture programme that fills sea days, and on Minerva the operator's page references expert-led lectures explicitly.
If landing time ashore is your top priority, the smaller guest count on Minerva gives her a thin edge in theory, but both ships clear the practical bar comfortably. When the choice gets this fine-grained, it is worth talking through the landing logistics with someone who can compare specific departures.
Prices And What The Fare Includes
The published 2026-27 figures run from $11,675 per person for an 11-night Antarctic Wonders departure on SH Minerva and from $9,800 for the comparable voyage on SH Diana, both read from operator materials and unverified. Swan Hellenic does not publish an itemised fare-inclusion list on its ship pages, so what the fare covers beyond the voyage and expedition programme cannot be stated in detail.
The fare gap deserves a plain reading. On nearly identical 11-night November 2026 departures, Diana lists from $9,800 per person against Minerva's $11,675. That is real money, but it is not a different tier of travel: it is the newer, larger ship pricing to fill, or the older, smaller ship commanding a premium for headcount. Which side of that trade you prefer is a genuine decision point.
| Cost item | SH Minerva | SH Diana |
|---|---|---|
| Published Peninsula from-fare | From $11,675 pp, Antarctic Wonders, 11 nights, Nov 2026 | From $9,800 pp, Antarctic Wonders, 11 nights, Nov 2026 |
| Fare verification | Operator materials, unverified | Operator materials, unverified |
| Itemised inclusions | Not published on the operator's page | Not published on the operator's page |
| Typical add-ons to budget | Flights to Ushuaia, insurance, gratuities, gear | Flights to Ushuaia, insurance, gratuities, gear |
On inclusions, honesty requires saying the operator does not itemise them. Some polar cruise lines bundle drinks, parkas, boots or charter flights into the headline fare; Swan Hellenic's ship pages do not say, so plan on the conservative assumption that flights to Ushuaia, travel insurance with medical evacuation cover, and personal gear are yours to arrange and fund. Industry-wide, operators require or strongly recommend insurance with medical evacuation cover, and it is never part of the base fare. The full budget picture, including what a realistic all-in figure looks like for a 10 to 12 day Peninsula trip, is laid out in the Antarctica cruise cost guide.
The Real Differences
Six concrete contrasts separate the ships: capacity (152 versus 192), age (2021 versus 2023), published facilities (detailed for Minerva, sparse for Diana), ports (Ushuaia only versus Ushuaia plus Cape Town), published from-fares (Diana lists lower on comparable departures), and cabin documentation. On hull, ice class, activity set and route lengths, they are near-identical.
Spelled out one by one:
- Capacity. 152 guests on Minerva against 192 on Diana. Both land comfortably within the 100-ashore rule, but Minerva is the quieter ship.
- Age. Minerva was built in 2021, Diana in 2023. Both are current-generation purpose-built polar ships; neither is a converted research vessel.
- Published facilities. Minerva's operator page lists a pool, grill, club lounge, observation lounge, spa, sauna, jacuzzi and stargazing deck. Diana's page does not publish a comparable list, which is a documentation gap, not evidence of a sparser ship.
- Routing. Diana appears on Cape Town departures in the published schedules, which opens the long South Atlantic and South Georgia combinations. Minerva's published ports are Ushuaia.
- Fare. On comparable 11-night November 2026 Antarctic Wonders departures, the published listings run $11,675 on Minerva and $9,800 on Diana.
- Cabin documentation. Minerva's stateroom count (76) and a balcony category example are published; Diana's cabin count is not stated by the operator.
And the honest note on similarity: these are sister ships from the same programme with the same PC5 hull standard, the same Zodiac-and-kayak activity model, the same 9 to 23 night voyage architecture and the same expedition-first onboard culture. If someone told you the two ships were interchangeable for a classic Peninsula cruise, they would not be far wrong. The choice is about margins, not categories.

Which One To Choose By Travel Style
Choose SH Minerva if you want the smaller guest count and the better-documented onboard picture, and choose SH Diana if you want the newer ship, the lower published fare, or a long Cape Town or South Georgia routing. For a classic Peninsula cruise booked on dates alone, either ship does the job, so let price and departure schedule decide.
| Traveller type | The better pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Small-ship purist | SH Minerva | 152 guests, the lower headcount on every landing and Zodiac ride |
| Budget-conscious on a classic Peninsula trip | SH Diana | Comparable 11-night voyages list from $9,800 pp against Minerva's $11,675 |
| South Georgia and long-route dreamer | SH Diana | Cape Town routings in the published schedules open the big sub-Antarctic itineraries |
| Traveller who wants documented amenities before booking | SH Minerva | Pool, grill, lounges, spa and stargazing deck all itemised on the operator's page |
| Kayaker or polar-plunge regular | SH Minerva | Kayaking and polar plunge both named in her itineraries; Diana's line names kayaking |
| Decided by dates and nothing else | Either | Same routes, same season, same expedition model |
Whichever way you lean, the decision is easier with the actual departure grid in front of you, because cabin availability on these cruise ships moves season by season. A free consultation on your dates costs nothing and puts both ships' schedules side by side for your specific window.
Common Questions About Minerva Vs Diana
Swan Hellenic Minerva vs Swan Hellenic Diana: which ship is better?
Neither is objectively better. SH Minerva is smaller (152 guests versus 192) and has a more fully documented onboard facility list; SH Diana is newer (2023 versus 2021), lists lower fares on comparable 11-night Antarctic Wonders departures, and appears on Cape Town routings. For a classic Peninsula cruise, both deliver the same PC5-hull, Zodiac-and-kayak expedition experience.
How much does an Antarctic Wonders voyage cost on each ship?
One 2026-27 listing shows an 11-night Antarctic Wonders roundtrip from Ushuaia from $11,675 per person on SH Minerva (11-20 November 2026) and from $9,800 per person on SH Diana (12-21 November 2026). Both figures were read from operator materials and are unverified, so confirm current fares before planning around them.
Do both ships have balconies?
SH Minerva has balcony staterooms; the operator's page gives an example category of about 25 square metres with a 5 square metre balcony. SH Diana offers balcony accommodation, but the operator does not publish her full cabin category list, so no cabin count or dimensions can be stated.
Are the ships small enough for Antarctic landings?
Yes, comfortably. Antarctic rules prohibit landings by vessels carrying more than 500 passengers and cap shore parties at 100 passengers at a time with a 1:20 guide ratio. At 152 and 192 guests respectively, both ships land everyone in two rotations.
Do either of these ships have helicopters or submarines?
No. The operator's materials list Zodiacs, kayaking and, on Minerva, polar plunge. Helicopters and submarines do not appear in either ship's published details, so if those matter to you, a different operator's expedition cruise is the better fit.
Which ship sails from Cape Town?
SH Diana. The operator lists her departure ports as Ushuaia and Cape Town, reflecting the long sub-Antarctic routings in her schedule. SH Minerva's published port is Ushuaia.




